IEEE/IFIP Network Operations and Management Symposium
6–10 May 2024 // Seoul, South Korea

Distinguished Experts Panel

DEP will be held in Gayageum A.


As the landscape of network and service management continues to evolve, the Distinguished Expert Panel (DEP) at NOMS 2024 seeks to explore the transformative impact of these changes. Our discussion is motivated by the convergence of cutting-edge concepts such as cloudification and softwarization; the new advancements in mobile networks beyond 5G and towards 6G; and the integration of AI/ML algorithms into management frameworks. Over the past decade, the infusion of cloudification and softwarization has revolutionized management solutions. However, the adoption of AI/ML remains at the forefront of ongoing research, promising to further enhance the efficiency and efficacy of network operations.

The theme of NOMS 2024 is “Towards intelligent, reliable, and sustainable network and service management.”  Join us for this DEP, and be part of the conversation as we navigate the challenges and opportunities presented by sofwarization, cloudification, 5G and 6G networks, and AI/ML-driven processes - envisioning a world where network and service management is not only reliable but also sustainable, paving the way for transformative applications and a connected future.

Moderator: Prof. Pal Varga (BME, Hungary), Dr. Taesang Choi (ETRI, Korea)

Prof. Pal Varga's bio:
Pal Varga is currently the Head of Department of Telecommunications and Media Informatics at the Budapest University of Technology and Economics. As an associate professor at BME, his main research interests include communication systems, Cyber-Physical Systems and Industrial Internet of Things, network traffic analysis, end-to-end QoS and SLA issues -- for which he is keen to apply hardware acceleration and artificial intelligence, machine learning techniques as well. Besides being a member of HTE, he is a senior member of IEEE, where he is active both in the IEEE ComSoc (Communication Society) and IEEE IES (Industrial Electronics Society) communities. He has been the general co-chair of IEEE NOMS 2020 and 2022 editions, ans he is the Editor-in-Chief of the Infocommunications Journal (HTE).

Dr. Taesang Choi's bio:

Taesang Choi is a Principal Engineering Staff in ETRI, having joined the institute in 1996 after research and development careers on network and service management of telecommunications during his Ph.D studies at the University of Missouri at Kansas City. He has successfully managed a number of projects in the area of networking, especially in Internet traffic engineering, measurement and analysis, QoS, SDN, and NFV, autonomic management. He has successfully managed related projects such as OPEN-TAM subproject in ONOS consortium, a Korean government supported project, “Smart Networking Core Technology Development” which addresses SDN/T-SDN/NFV control and management for carrier-grade networks.  Currently he is a project coordinator of “Agility” project.
He has had substantial experience as an educator, workshop facilitator and public speaker.  He has spoken at various regional and international conferences and workshops (NOMS, APNOMS, IM, etc.) as a technical session speaker and tutorial speaker.  He has worked as an active organizing committee member and reviewer in a number of conferences, workshops and symposiums. He has also been actively contributed to various standardization organizations and open source communities such as ONF, ETSI NFV-ISG, ITU-T, IETF and ONOS in the area of SDN/NFV management, 5G network management, Internet traffic engineering, Internet traffic measurement and analysis, and Future Internet Management since 1993.  His current research interests are autonomic network management and control, and Quantum information technology management and control.


  • Prof. Hana Bogucka (PUT, Poland)
  • Dr. Laurent Ciavaglia (Nokia, France)
  • Dr. Hyungoo Lee (Ericsson-LG, Korea)
  • Prof. Lisandro Zambenedetti Granville (UFRGS, Brazil)

Prof. Hana Bogucka's bio: 
Prof. dr hab. inż. Hanna Bogucka is a full professor and the Director of the Institute of Radiocommunications at Poznan University of Technology. Moreover, prof. Bogucka is the co-founder, Board Member and the Head of Cooperation of RIMEDO Labs, a spin-off from PUT. Prof. Bogucka is involved in research in the area of radio access networks (RANs): open RAN, RAN security, cognitive radio, and green communication. She has been involved in multiple European 5th – 7th Framework Programme and Horizon 2020 projects, European COST actions, National Science Centre projects, and industry cooperation. She is the author of over 200 research papers, 3 handbooks in the area of radio communications and digital signal processing (in Polish), and 3 scientific monographs on flexible and cognitive radio. Prof. Bogucka has been appointed IEEE Communications Society Director of the EAME Region (Europe, Africa, Middle East) and elected IEEE Radio Communications Committee Chair for the term of 2015-2016. Currently, she is the IEEE ComSoc Fog/Edge Industry Community Regional Chair in Europe, elected Member at Large of the IEEE ComSoc Board of Governors representing EMEA region (2023-2025), and a member of the Polish Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Laurent Ciavaglia's bio
Laurent Ciavaglia is leading the network management, intelligence and data research and standards team at Nokia, and contributes to network automation technologies in various standards working groups and research communities. Prior, Laurent has worked with Rakuten Mobile and Rakuten Symphony as Head of Autonomous Networks Innovation Europe. He has extensive experience in inventing future network automation technologies with focus on intent-driven, zero-touch and artificial intelligence techniques. Laurent is an experienced standards contributor as editor and co-author of multiple specifications in the IETF, IRTF and ETSI in the fields of zero-touch networking, intent-based networking, autonomic networking, closed-loop automation, telemetry, and integration of machine learning and machine reasoning functionalities in networking environments. Laurent serves as co-chair of the IRTF Network Management Research Group (NRMG) and participates in standardization activities related to network and service automation in IETF, O-RAN, ETSI, ITU-T and TMF. Laurent is also a proud member of the IEEE network operations and management community (CNOM).

Dr. Hyungoo Lee’s bio:
Ericsson is one of the leading providers of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) to service providers around 180 countries. Hyungoo Lee is responsible for driving the 4G and 5G features development on L3 layers. He is supporting research on new technology including machine learning and AI applied on 5G/6G within telecom. His position also covers securing the long term and strategic goals to contribute to Ericsson’s thought leadership. He received Master’s degree in radio communication from Inha University, Korea.

Lisandro Granville’s bio:
Lisandro Zambenedetti Granville is a Full Professor of Computer Science at the Institute of Informatics of the Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS), Brazil. He holds Ph.D. (2001) and M.Sc. (1998) degrees in Computer Science, both from UFRGS. From September 2007 to August 2008, Lisandro was a visiting researcher at the University of Twente, The Netherlands, with the Design and Analysis of Communication Systems group. He was previous president of the Brazilian Computer Society (SBC), IRTF's Network Management Research Group (NMRG) co-chair, and IEEE ComSoc's Committee on Network and Operations Management (CNOM) chair. Lisandro was TPC co-chair of NOMS 2010 and NOMS 2023. In 2022, he was the recipient of the Sarah Aidarous Award, presented to individuals who have provided unremitting service and dedication to the Network Operations and Management community